ACUR@ANU 2021: ‘Your Search, Our Future’

ACUR@ANU 2021 winners pictured with ACUR Chair Angela Brew and members of the conference organising team at the closing ceremony.
The 2021 Australasian Conference of Undergraduate Research was proudly hosted by the Australian National University.

ACUR@ANU was the first ever online ACUR conference and welcomed 145 student presenters from around the world. ACUR@ANU was sponsored by the Australian Bureau of Statistics, and supported by the ANU Gender Institute and the John Curtin School of Medical Research.  

Following an international call for abstracts, ACUR@ANU included 48 student presentation sessions across three days. Each student presentation session was judged by two academic staff members from around the world. 58% of all ACUR@ANU student participants presented research for the first time at the conference, and we are delighted to have worked with ACUR to welcome hundreds of students and academic staff members into the ACUR community. 

ACUR@ANU also included more than 12 events focussed on supporting multidisciplinary undergraduate research: an opening address including a Welcome to Country, three keynote addresses, three workshops, four panels and the closing ceremony. These events featured more than 35 speakers from around the world, and more than 200 conference registrations were purchased in support of undergraduate research. 

The ACUR@ANU conference organising team wishes to acknowledge the generous contributions of our peer review and judging teams of academic staff from around the world. Their support and generous contributions made this conference possible. This conference was also made possible by our ACUR@ANU Student Volunteer Committee, and our Session Chair team. Thank you also to the ACUR Executive and ACUR Student Committee. 

Click here to see the recordings

Congratulations to all student presenters, and especially to our winners: 

Oral presentation category (joint first place winners): 
Andrew Quattrocchi- The University of Sydney 
Rebecca Marie Hetherington- The University of Notre Dame Australia (Sydney) 
Veronica Padilla- The University of New South Wales (UNSW) 

Poster presentation category: 
First place: Kira Simmons- University of the Sunshine Coast 
Second place: Amy Lu- The University of Adelaide 
Second place: Claudia Goodman- University of Wollongong 

Group presentation category (joint first place winners): 
Asha Clementi and Rebecca Crisp- The Australian National University 
Jessica Turner and Narelle Jones- The University of Adelaide 

John Curtin School of Medical Research Best Female Presenter: (joint winners) 
Rebecca Marie Hetherington- The University of Notre Dame Australia (Sydney) 
Veronica Padilla- The University of New South Wales (UNSW) 

Download the conference program and abstract booklet here